Fancy Zhànshì part 2

20170507_100937.jpg

Today I am again writing to celebrate the retirement of some Yu Jing line infantry models, this time some much adored but seldom used Zhanshi, the second infinity models I ever bought.

20170507_115850.jpg

I love these old models. I love the no nonsense haircuts, complex uniforms and action poses especially. They might be some of the best single piece miniatures ever in my opinion. The old combis are proportionally bigger than those abandoned OICW prototypes, but still look cool. The models may have changed, but the statblock regrettably has not. Whilst I get the impression my adoration for the sculpts is above the average, my “love” for the statblock is right there with the majority. That’s why these models are retiring after having been repainted more times than they have been used in a competitive match. Frankly, no one is taking Zhanshis to fight. Keisotsu and Kuang Shi cheerlead for better value in vanilla. Zhanshis will have no competative niche until a sectorial army list both makes them linkable and denies access to keisotsu butai, celestial guard and kuang shi. I hope it happens soon, because I like the new ones and am eyeing off the SWC box, despite having never played a profile without a combi rifle.

So what do the new sculpts bring to the table?

20170507_101105.jpg

In summary, big tits, round asses, manga aesthetic hairstyles, simple, easy to paint uniforms, sensibly sized weapons, modern-scaled bodies. Your mileage may vary on some of those but I’ve certainly seen the upside and am really happy with the new models.

20170507_101127.jpg

Whilst I would not have opted for many of the departures from the old ones if asked, I love the character and detail of these sculpts. I also like the poses, even if the blue haired woman is being a bit reckless with her gun. She was a lot of fun to paint, because she could easily be done in one piece in contrast to the others. I was foolhardy enough to paint the other two with their gun arms separate, something that I always regret until the models are together.

20170507_101119.jpg

Regarding the faces, I’ve spent a lot of time in recent years working in rural parts of Asia, and I think it is influencing my choice of skin tones. I’m definitely shading heavier. I’ve also tried a few different combinations, like shading with GW Snakebite Leather instead of Vallejo Cavalry Brown. I like the result but t is a little too close to the colour of the armour sometimes, even though it has no colours in common.

20170507_101155On the backs of the models, large black/grey areas with plenty of hard angles make for comfortable and quick painting too. 20170507_101050

Welcome to the team ladies and gentleman, the deepest insert of my figure case is that way. Get comfortable.

2 thoughts on “Fancy Zhànshì part 2

  1. Love your blog! Would love to see some battle reports as well. 🙂 I would definitely pick up the Zhanshi SWC box as it’s looking like the resculpt of the Celestial Guard SWC box is in the distant future. Been proxying the Zhanshi as CG in ISS and in vanilla letting my opponent know before that the HMG is a CG with Spit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! I really need to get back into blogging, and sorry it is so long between updates. It hasn’t helped that I bought a video game for the first time in a long time not too long ago and have been getting good mileage out of it. My last few Infinity games were with Tohaa and I got flogged, but renders of a second Kanren sculpt from Interplanetary this year have me dusting off my orange pants.

      As for the celestial guard spitfire, I used to use him all the time, but since HSN3 I keep trying to upgrade him to a crane!

      https://eternalrival.wordpress.com/2017/02/07/assume-the-crane-stance-for-the-second-time/

      Like

Leave a Reply

