Fancy Zhànshì

Well, I finally did it. Anyone close to me knows I had been agonizing over the decision of whether or not to redo the original flouro orange of my Zhanshis with the new orange, as I did with the Shaolin Warrior Monks, Gui Feng Spec Ops, Yaoxie Rui Shi, Yao Xie Lu Duan and Yaozao remotes. The reason for this was because compared to the others, the old orange really worked on these guys.

20140106_130455The Zhanshis were actually the second Infinity figures I bought, after the original Imperial Agent Pheasant Rank, in line with my plans to put together a fairly regular army unit. As I gravitated slowly toward the Imperial Service Sectorial Army (completely contrary to my original intent), it was looking like these guys were going to see less and less play, and I was almost certain to leave them as they were, as a tribute to my first efforts.

Then N3 came out, causing me to fall in love with the Yan Huo Invincible. Then they teased the new Hac Tao. What this meant was that I would need cheer leaders, and something to fill the gaps whilst I grew my legion of invincibles in anticipation of the “upcoming” sectorial army.

I am strong (strong!), I am Invincible (invincible!)
One day this guy is getting his own post.

In short, despite how cool my pure Imperial list is shaping up to be, the Zhanshis are going to continue to get a workout with my State Army Units, as seen below. Now all I need is a hacker or a TAG.

SAMSUNG

So, you have gone through this article reading Zhànshì this and Zhànshì that, but were you internalising it correctly? Wonder no more!

As with all Chinese words, each syllable has its own character. Zhànshì is made up of these two, 战(Zhàn) & 士(shì).

Zhanshi

In Pinyin, the ‘Zh’ sound of Zhàn is pronounced like the end of “judge“, starting at the ‘d’. The ‘an’ rhymes with “ran”. The character  (战) stands for combat. This can be from wars to battles to brawls.

“Shi” sounds like the first part of “shit”, like you were going to say “shit” but stopped yourself three letters in because children might read the blog. The character (士) is usually used as a suffix to denote a professional.

So taken together the literal meaning of Zhànshì (战士) is fighter, but the professionalism implied by the second character would make warrior the more fitting translation.

5 thoughts on “Fancy Zhànshì

Leave a Reply

