Orange is the New Black.

Orange is the new black

Now when it comes to painting, I’m no Angel.

That said, I am pretty happy with the Yu Jing style orange I have achieved by aping his colour selection, so I will share it with you today because it is really very easy to pull off, using only a normal paintbrush and 5 colours. I was in the process of painting Sun Tze when I was first asked to make this demo, so his arm was already done. The instructions correspond to what is going on on his backpack unit.

Step 1:

The model was primed using Games Workshop Chaos Black spray. A complete coat of Orange Brown from the Vallejo model range was painted over the armour panels.

Step 1

Step 2:

I diluted some Vallejo Cavalry Brown and wash the orange parts. I try to get it thin enough that the most extreme bits don’t really change colour. I put it on thicker that day because I did not want it to run wild, so after that I picked out the highest bits again with the Orange Brown

Step 2Step 3:

Next, I picked out the   extreme edges with white. I used a GW Skull White of questionable age.

Step 3

Step 4:

I took some Scrofulous Brown from the Vallejo game range (my current favourite paint of all time), and thinned it a little with water. Then, starting from the white edges, I drew it towards the darkest areas of the surface.

Step 4

And that’s all there is to it!

10756487_10152549865151848_245998233_o

19 thoughts on “Orange is the New Black.

Leave a Reply

